Things You Never Knew About Your Library

Customer, Staff, and Library Stories

Meet Samantha Sizemore – From Cincinnati’s Eastside to Boone County!

My name is Samantha Sizemore (most people call me Sam, but either is fine). Next month will be my 3rd anniversary at BCPL. I started in July 2018 as the Circulation Manager at Main. In March of 2019, I took the position of Business Services Coordinator. I spend most of my time here handling the accounts payable/receivable processes, which includes paying invoices, reconciling bank accounts and credit card expenses, etc. Before working at BCPL, I spent over 12 years working in the corporate safety & security industry. I managed a center that dealt with medical emergencies, bank robberies, facility emergencies, and other events. It was a very interesting field, but also very high stress at times and involved a lot of after-hours on-call work. Coming to BCPL was a breath of fresh air for me. My favorite thing about working here is how supportive and friendly everyone is and that most people seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs.

I grew up on the East side of Cincinnati in the Eastgate area. I graduated from Glen Este High School and then went on to Miami University majoring in Sociology. I later transferred to Western Governor’s University and got my bachelor’s degree in Business Management. I moved to Northern Kentucky in 2012 and have lived here ever since. I’ve known my husband for 11 years, and we recently got married in 2020. I have a son named Harrison, who is about to turn 6 (he was born on my birthday!) and just finished Kindergarten. I know it sounds super corny, but he is my greatest accomplishment and I absolutely love being his mom (even when he acts like he knows everything and his mom knows nothing! Haha!)

On the weekends you can likely find us at the Cincinnati Zoo (we have been members for years), at the baseball field (my son plays and my husband coaches), or finding any way to have fun and get outdoors. We especially love going to local parks and taking bike rides and walks around our neighborhood. I love to travel but haven’t done it as much since my son was born. I’ve been to Europe twice, Jamaica, the Bahamas, Canada, and Mexico. I was scheduled to visit the Dominican Republic in 2020, but the pandemic, unfortunately, canceled those plans.

We are animal lovers and currently have 2 dogs named Ruby and Reggie, and 1 cat named Dexter. If we had more space, I’d probably have several more animals. I enjoy reading, baking, and amateur photography when I have downtime, which isn’t too often these days as we stay pretty busy. My husband and I enjoy trying out new local restaurants and breweries, especially anywhere with outdoor seating. I also love going to concerts and musical theater productions with my friends. I can’t wait to do all of those things again soon!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: